A Dinner with Anna Olson!

9 Jun

A Dinner with Anna Olson

 

By Lily Erlic

 

I had the pleasure of dining with Anna Olson at the London Chef in Victoria, BC on a Thursday evening in 2012. Anna welcomed us like she would have if we had come to her home. She said she wanted to chat and answer questions just as though you had come to her own house.

We began by seating ourselves on stools in front of a large island. Anna showed us how to make a Sweet Potato Soup with Coconut Milk & Ginger. She also showed us how to make the filling for Warm Chocolate Orange Truffle Tarts. Later on, we moved over to the dining area where we enjoyed a three course meal with wine pairings. While she demonstrated, she talked about how her TV show comes together. She works 12-15 hour days! Wow!

The highlight of the evening was when she signed her book for me! It’s called Back to Baking 200 Timeless Recipes to Bake, Share, and Enjoy. I am looking forward to making the recipes in this book. The Hazelnut Ricotta Cake sounds inviting! I also gave her a copy of my book Finger Rhymes for Manners! I signed a copy for her!

I was so happy to meet her especially since I was not able to make the RWOP  (Real Women of Philadelphia) dinner last year in Toronto. My husband discovered the event in Victoria and encouraged me to go; I’m so glad he did!

 

Leave a Reply

